Tags

, , ,


My best friend Andrea Jean and her amazing boyfriend Justin signed a lease for a one bedroom house yesterday. I am ridiculously excited for her and this new step in her life. Moments like these take me back to the start of our friendship, to the time when our lives were intertwined, and we never went more than a day without seeing each other. We lived in my car, always racing around town, wasting as much time as we could doing anything, anything at all, to not be at home. Anything was better than being at home when we were in high school.

I remember days like today, after a cold winter when it would finally be 40 degrees again. We’d laugh and crack the windows and be excited of the potential of warmer and warmer days. We’d have the radio in my 1989 Honda Accord as loud as it would go, which wasn’t ever very loud, but we’d listen to our music as the bass crackled beneath the sounds of our random mixes of New Found Glory, Ludacris, Fall Out Boy, All American Rejects, and of course, who could forget Mario.

We were different people back then, but through everything we’ve been through in our 7 or so years of friendship (oh my god, has it been seven years?)  we’re still as close as ever. I get her, she gets me. No matter how much time goes between visits or conversations, nothing changes. Our love is truly unconditional, and nothing will change that, it can’t be changed.

Andrea, you’re the only definition of soul mate that I believe in. You honestly are a sister to me (and I just broke down in tears writing that).

I wish you the best of luck in your brand new little home. I’m so proud of you and happy for you. I can’t wait to come visit.

