Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,


My boyfriend and I have said ‘no pets’ since the start, when we moved in together I didn’t even bring the cat I already owned and had to ship her off to my parents house. We both figured, and knew deep down that it was true, that we’re too selfish to take care of another being, other than our little fish who doesn’t really need to be taken care of anyway. We’re both nurturing individuals and would make great parents to a puppy but, not right now. We’re selfish with our time, our plans, and our money. We’re basically living paycheck to paycheck and do what we can with our leftover money at the end of the week. We try to travel around when we can, visiting our families on weekends and out of town friends on rare and random occasions, and we never wanted to have to worry about who would let the dog out if we couldn’t take him or her with us, or how we’d manage to pay for a vet visit if our pet ever got sick.

We find ourselves reading up on different breeds and looking at pictures of dogs all the time online. On many, many separate occasions we’ve gotten into entire discussions about what types of dogs we liked and disliked. We’d take those silly “what breed is best for you’ quizzes online and compare our results and try to narrow it down, but we never really came to a consistent conclusion, and never took anythings seriously anyway considering our agreement anyway.

Kyle likes Huskies and German Shepherds, I like Akita’s and Finnish Spitz.Β  We both agree that the dog would absolutely need to be intelligent and we wont put up with a dog that doesn’t obey. We need a quiet dog, and preferably one that we wouldn’t need to groom every single day. This isn’t an easy checklist to complete, but since we never took it seriously, it never really mattered anyway.

Yesterday, I had lunch with a good friend of mine, and she mentioned in passing how her friend needed to give away her dog because she was moving and couldn’t take her dog with her. She showed me a picture, and even though it wasn’t the cutest dog in the world, in the societal view at least, but something about his little face and his tough little build, I kind of fell in love with him.

About two weeks before this, Kyle and I named the muskrat that lives in the pond outside our apartment, we tossed around a bunch of random names, and then I said “Roscoe!” and we decided it was the perfect name. We laughed and loved it and decided our little pet muskrat would be called Roscoe… if we ever saw it again.

At lunch yesterday, after seeing the picture of this dog, my friend told me that this dog’s name happened to be Roscoe, and I melted a little more. She went on to tell me about him, he was an adult, but she wasn’t sure exactly of how many years old he was. She said he was extremely well behaved, never messed on the floor while her current owner worked long shifts, and was really friendly and intelligent, she was checking ever box off our doggy wish list.

After returning home from lunch I showed the picture to Kyle and he said it was an ugly dog and I figured the conversation was over, but then to my surprise, he started reading up on him online and started reading to me about how great they are, and how he was exactly what we were looking for in a pet, and when I told him his name was Roscoe, his heart melted a little too.

Later that night we were discussing Roscoe with some of our friends, and I decided to get a few more details from my friend about the dog, it turned out that if her friend didn’t have a home for him within two weeks, he was going to the humane society… and we all know what happens to adult dogs at the humane society after a few weeks…. it also turned out that the dog lived quite nearby Kyle’s parents house, and we agreed to go meet him the next day at 2.

Kyle and I did more and more research on Boston Terriers, and really started to feel a bit of excitement. I tried to imagine having a dog around the house, and taking him for walks and having a cuddle buddy while Kyle was away studying or visiting his family. I woke up this morning excited to go meet him, I packed our bags, bought us some lunch, and patiently waited for Kyle to be ready to go.

At the last minute, my friend texted and told me that her friend’s cousin had taken Roscoe that morning, and he was no longer available, and to my surprise, my heart broke.

We never seriously considered getting a dog, but something about this one made us change our minds in a matter of an hour, at least enough to go meet him and see if he liked us, and just when we started to really change our minds about having another living being in our home, we had our chance taken away.

What type of lesson is this teaching us today? I’m not sure. Maybe nothing at all, maybe not to count your chickens before they hatch, or maybe this is our memo that we aren’t as selfish as we thought. I doubt we’ll think about getting a dog again anytime soon, but at least now we know that if there’s ever a perfect situation, chances are that our lives could change, and we could have a brand new friend.

