Tags

, , , , , ,


About four years ago, I was in a relationship with someone that was part time long distance, part time in the same city and part time living in the same apartment. During the long distance periods, we had a schedule to see each other that consisted of Wednesday nights at his house about 45 minutes away from where I lived, and Thursday mornings I would wake up bright and early to drive back up to campus by 9am for class.

A little note, I LOVE making long drives really early in the morning. I can’t explain why, it’s just one of those things that gives me a really good high that last for hours after the drive ends. It’s my perfect start to a day.

When I was 19 and would make those drives, I’d have my cappuccino, my sunglasses and the radio up loud. It didn’t matter what was on, as long as it was loud and had a beat that I could wiggle to.

Nowadays, on my very early drive to work, or when I get the luxury of a long early drive like I love, all I want to hear is a talk station. I want to know whats going on in the world, in town and in pop culture. Music is the last thing I want to hear. It’ s not that I don’t love music, because I do, but during the morning I only want the morning talk shows. I’m getting old.

Once I’m wide awake and the sun is high in the sky, I’m back to my desire for music, once the sun is down I want the music even more, but first thing in the morning my news seeking adult mindset is up and running and I prepare myself for the days events.

At least knowledge is power… right? 🙂

