Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,


I stood there in the kitchen with just my bathrobe on and my hair a total mess and looked over towards him lying on the living room floor and the only thought that went through my mind was “he better not ever question my love for him, because after a year and a half, I’m still here, standing in the kitchen, looking ridiculous, and knowing after all this time, that it feels like only a day has passed. I love him so much I don’t notice minutes passing anymore. I’m still here, still happy, and that really is all that matters. Nothing else means anything at all.”
 
And that got me thinking.
 
All the couples in the world who have problems, stop, in a random moment of the day, and look around and ask yourself why you are still standing there. Don’t use any of the excuses “oh we signed a mortgage together, that’s why I’m still here” or “we’re in the middle of a lease” or “I really think we can make it work”. Don’t bother with the excuses. Ask yourself why you are standing there, right at that exact moment. The answer should simply be because you are happy standing there. Even if you’re fighting and you’re miserable at the moment, and you’re wondering if the relationship can go on… if you’re still standing there, and deep down you are happy. Happier in it and fighting for it then you would be without it, then that’s all that matters.
 
I’m lucky enough to be in a relationship where I’m happy without the fight to be happy. But, this little ephiphany of mine will help me in the future, and help me realize how simple life really is. If it makes you happy, stick with it, if it doesn’t, just go on without it. I have a pretty good feeling though that I’ve known this all along, and this is why I have the happy relationship that I have today.
