Tags

, , , , , ,


I recently learned, in a series of small lessons, what it’s like to lose the most important things in my life. It was, terrifying, to say the least. I got a solid vision of how quickly my life can change.

Now, it wasn’t a big reality check that made me realize everything I’m taking for granted, because I can honestly say that for the first time in my life I’m taking nothing for granted. I have a love in my life and I know how important he is to me. There is no question. I tell him I love him a hundred times a day because I want him to honestly know that he is not being taken for granted. I have a strong, solid relationship with my parents. We have our differences, of course, but we are past ‘agreeing to disagree’ and we have a perfect understanding of my life, their lives and our combined lives and we’re happy. I have amazing friends and have been blessed with my boyfriends amazing friends and family as well. The people in my life are a huge part of who I am, and I am happy that I have them all… I have a great place to live, a job that provides my lifestyle for me, and, hey, a degree! I’m thrilled with my life.

People can’t just restart. When life gets rough we can’t just decide to dust it off, clean it up and go back to start over again. We can’t hit pause and take a break. We can’t take back things that were said or done. We have to just keep going.  We all make decisions we regret and say things we wish we could take back. It happens. But we have to stop regretting and learn to work together to move forward. If there’s a problem we need to learn to work together to fix it. Whether it is physical, emotional, between two or three or a hundred people. If it’s going to effect your life negatively, work on it to make the change a positive one.

I guess, in a sense, that is what I did. A problem arose, it got out of control, it temporarily changed my life, but before it got permanent minor changes were made to hopefully make it a positive change. I moved past it. I’ve continued on with my life, getting used to the minor changes, but one-hundred percent appreciated them, because they helped maintain my current lifestyle and the people that are apart of it.

However, minor changes, temporary fear, regret, all those things, they don’t change the fact that for a moment there, I felt what it felt like to lose it all, even if for just a moment, and I never want to feel that again, however, learning from my previous mistakes aren’t always easy lessons to learn. So, I’m just throwing it out there, I’m still learning, and always will be. We’re all learning, all the time.

Little lessons. Little lessons.

Work hard. Study hard. Learn from everything. Attempt to make changes. Hold on to what you love. Be yourself. Smile.

