Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


Remember the movie ’13 going on 30?”

I have the same mindset.

I am 24, only a short six years from 30, and was lying in bed last night thinking to myself “I’d much rather be thirty. At thirty I’ll have things figured out. I’ll be in a career, instead of a long-term yet temporary gig, I’ll hopefully still be with Kyle, and we’ll be in the city of our choice, in the home of our choice, with a dog. I don’t know how to explain it. I just feel like at that point, my life will be sorted out, and I’ll no longer be waiting for that next step. I’ll have already reached it.”

Kyle disagreed. He said no matter how old we are we’ll still be lost, still in the process of changing, still stepping towards something else. I understand where he’s coming from, but in my mind I still see thirty as more solid ground than where I am today, but hell, during certain days next week feels more solid than now. I suppose this is a common feeling for a fresh young college graduate making their way into the full time working world, seeking something career worthy but realizing she has no idea what she should be doing.

We really are getting there though. ย Kyle is graduating in 52 days and starting his internship in the fall. I’m only 84 days away from the end of my contract with my current job and then will hopefully find some where in the company I can stay for much longer, for a more permanent placement. We’re 24 and still growing up ๐Ÿ™‚

