Tags

, , , , ,


I did my very first furniture restoration project.

I found a green and brown nightstand that was chipped up and overall ugly and not my style (in my opinion) but was very sturdy, made with good wood and a good shape and size. The best part, it was $4.99.

EDIT [After further review, I’ve decided it’s not  a nightstand, but one of those telephone tables from a few decades ago. Considering it has the pull out desk top but is much to small to be anything desk-like. And it’s larger than your typical nightstand. It also had a matching hutch. So, I’m definitely thinking it’s one of those old Phone Stand/Tables].

So, I decided to make this my first project.  I decided to just go plain black (might as well go easy the first time) and pretty much bought the cheapest paint, brushes and so forth. This is just a trial run. I figure if it’s great… GREAT! I can sell it or we can use it in our house. If it is total crap, I can try again, give it to my mom so she can re-do it, or just throw it in the dumpster. Whatever. At the end of the day, total cost was $19.00.

After sanding and washing, I got to painting!

A few hours later, after the second coat… I brought it back inside. I’m super excited to buy new hardware for it and am thinking about doing a paper finish on the slide out table top thing and maybe inside the drawer. I have to figure out the best way to go about that first.

Once it was dry, I put it together:

and then added some hardware:

and VOILA!

I apologize for the poor quality of the after pictures, I had to take them with my phone, but may end up retaking them with my camera in order to show the detail of how well it turned out. I’m also going to make a little before and after picture side by side but I need to do that later. This project was obviously very small and easy, but like I said before it was a first attempt, and I feel it was a great success. I’m super excited to jump in and start doing more creative restorations. I have many colorful ideas 🙂

I’m also thinking of adding a decorative paper top to the pull out hard surface. We’ll see if I get around to that.

This item has been sold. Thank you for your interest.

