Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


Yesterday I took another step in becoming a real life grown up. I got off my parents car insurance, six and a half years after moving away (what?! I didn’t know that wasn’t allowed!) and got my own car insurance. (I even had renters insurance on my parents insurance plan so it’s not like they didn’t know I didn’t live in Port Huron anymore!) Even when I was on my parents plan though I always paid my share, every month, so it was important for me to find a new insurance plan who could offer me a quality plan, for the same amount or less than what I paid on my parents multi-car plan.

After a few solid weeks of searching through online quotes and talking to agents on the phone, I finally got a great coverage plan for a few small dollars less than what I was paying before and am really happy with it. Like a good neighbor, State Farm is there! Yay for me. Kind of.

Anyway, I’m learning this other thing at work that is making me crazy and cranky. I know I’ll get it in time but it’s complicated and I’ve been trying for months and I’m still not at the point where I can do it on my own. My friend/coworker who is training me is doing so fantastically, it’s just a lot to learn. I have to know how to do it, completely on my own by the week of Thanksgiving….. I’ll get it, I know I will, it’s just making my job a bit frustrating lately.

Two months ago I created a super extreme in depth Budget, and with it I have tracked every penny I spend. I now fully understand exactly where my money goes and what I spend too much on and what I could be spending more on. It took two solid months of making tiny changes here and there and paying off a few things to make my paychecks last a little longer, but I have it worked out so that as of December 1st I’ll officially be saving $72.32 MORE a month than I was when I started September 1st. Go me! I’m very excited about this. Over time I’ll be able to pay down a few other things and pay less on other things and save even more, but I’m really happy with lowering my monthly expenses that much already. It’s a work in progress.

That’s the daily update. Not exciting to any of you, but it’s literally what has been consuming me the last few days/weeks. Being 24 is fun. At least I get to celebrate Halloween on Saturday… finally! 🙂

