Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


Out with the old, in with the new.

On par with previous years, I’m not making any resolutions. I’m going to strive for a better year than my previous year, within all realms of my life. My career, my relationship, my friendships. I’m going to continue being the best person I can be.

2012 was great for many reasons. I got the job I have now, that I honestly enjoy. I like my bosses, my coworkers and I feel successful at the end of a busy day. I am proud that I have learned what I need to know, I am certified and official. I take on new tasks and I am confident in my day to day work. I feel extremely lucky everyday that I’m there, and I am thankful for my place within the department.

I hit my five year mark after the car accident. It took a few years to become a normal, healthy person, and since I made it five years without any serious side effects (seizures or relapses) I am considered in perfect brain health once again. I got my tattoo in honor of the memories lost, the memories I regained and the changes I went through in the process. I became a better person. I’m proud of the person I am, and I’m thankful I found myself.

I got to see my best friend go far with her life, in distance, and in her career. She did something amazing, and attempted a new life. She packed up and moved and tried. That’s more than most of us can say. She came home eventually, but she learned from her experience and used her knowledge to her benefit.  After six long years (six?) she was given the promotion she deserved years ago, and is now at a much better place in her life. I’m incredibly proud and happy for her.

I celebrated three wonderful years with my boyfriend. He is my shining star, my sunrise, my joy. Each day I am still excited to wake up next to him, drove home to him, and go to sleep next to him. I wouldn’t be the person I am today if it weren’t for the last three years with him. I am thankful, and honored to have him by my side.

But it hasn’t all been wonderful, My mother, who I am very, very close too, has fallen ill. It’s been two months now, and I struggle with the reality of it every day. I can’t get into exactly whats wrong with her, because we aren’t 100% sure yet, but she has more bad days than good and it rips me to pieces. She’s strong, she’ll come through this, but until then, I do my best to stay strong for her. Once it’s quiet and I’m alone though, I crumble a little. I’m thankful I have people to help keep me upright.

I have high hopes for 2013. Really high hopes. High enough hopes that in 365 days I might find myself disappointed, but at least I’ll know I worked my hardest and didn’t sit back and watch, and if I am disappointed, it’ll be because my life is still a work in progress, not because I failed. I have a hard time remembering that sometimes.

Good luck to you all. I hope all my readers enjoyed their New Years Eve and their holidays. I hope you all have the best year ever moving forward.

