Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


1999 was a great year for music. The world was ending, so I guess it had to be. I was 11, and the lyrics of all the great pop songs of that year are still in my head, 14 years later; for that matter, most of the CD’s for those songs are still in my car.

Looking over the top 100 hits of 1999, I feel like I could still sing every single song without the music, Cher “Believe” is number one. Who can’t remember the lyrics to that? How about ‘No Scrubs’ which was number two, or “…Baby One More Time” which came in at number five? We wouldn’t have the Britney Spears we have today if it weren’t for the 1999 pop scene! oh dear goodness that might be a good thing.

Don’t even get me started on the songs towards the bottom of that top 100 list, these are the songs that I still hear when out dancing! These songs are historic! ‘Hard Knock Life’? yes please. ‘BACK THAT THANG UP’? yes PLEASE! ‘Can I get A….’ why yes, yes you can.

And the songs that will forever stay close to all of our hearts: ‘Black Balloon’, ‘Iris’, ‘Back at One’, ‘Save Tonight’ ::sigh::

And last, the ones that are always good for a reminiscent laugh: ‘Steal my Sunshine’, ‘Man, I feel like a Woman’, ‘Wild Wild West’, ‘Mambo #5’! oh stop, stop.

Seriously though, these songs shaped my sixth grade year… okay and most of the rest of my pre-college education. When weren’t we screaming backstreet boys, N’Sync, Old school Britney and Cristina at the tops of our lungs? C’mon girls. you know. Even the tough broads who ‘didn’t like pop’ couldn’t help but sing along in their bedrooms. The guys all hated it, but that changed. I don’t know a guy now a days who doesn’t bust out in song when one of these pop jams comes on at the bar. They laugh, it’s all in good fun.

I apparently felt like reminiscing today. Back when life was easier or more calm. Not better though, not in my case. I’m the happiest I’ve ever been right now. But it’s still so much fun to look back. Enjoy 🙂

SOngs mentioned in this post: Mambo #5 by Lou bega. iris by the goo goo dolls, hard knock life by jay-z, back at one by brian mcknight, steal my sunshine by len, Man, I feel like a woman by shania twain, back that thang up by Juvenile Featuring Mannie Fresh and Lil’ Wayne, wild wild west by Will Smith Featuring Dru Hill and Kool Moe Dee, save tonight by eagle-eye cherry, can I get a… by Jay-Z Featuring Amil (Of Major Coinz) and Ja, baby one more time by britney spears, believe by cher and no scrubs by tlc.
