Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


As some of you already know I’ve been pretty seriously interested in Ernest Hemingway for a little while now. I’m strangely fascinated by the degree of his status as a literary “genius” and how his novels became known as Classics.

He’s famous for his simplistic writing style, and critics praise him for making a point by using repetitive statements through the course of his paragraph. He’s praised even higher for his use of omitting thoughts and words during conversation, expecting his readers to pick up on feelings of the characters more by what they don’t say rather than what they do.  I do agree that he can paint a characters emotion in strong colors, but as for the rest of it, I can’t help but feel like I’m reading a high school English paper.

If I had to put it in my own words, this is my explanation for how Ernest Hemingway writes:

“John and I went in the city. The city was full of people. We got a table at the cafe, the cafe was crowded because the city was full of people. John and I had a drink at the cafe in the city….”

It’s just so incredibly redundant!

But, I shouldn’t complain. This is classic literature we’re talking about it. I truly am enjoying the novel, I just can’t seem to get through it because I get annoyed. I feel like I could skim entire chapters and still get the point, because my eyes would’ve crossed over the details 15 times.

As I write this I feel like I’m offending every single person who ever majored in some sort of literature or works in it professionally. I’m sorry! I’m just a brat! I went to school for communications, I love the words but I also love efficiency!

I’m only half way through the first novel I’ve ever read by Hemingway, but I own three and plan and definitely reading them all, and then going from there based on my interest.

I’m sure this post will have a follow up of sorts in time. 🙂

 

 

 

