Tags

, , , , , , ,


I’ve been fighting with myself for a long time about what I’m not doing in my life. I always want to give give give give everything I’ve got, but I never actually find the time or energy to do it. I constantly want to donate all my money to causes I care about because I feel bad for never volunteering my time. However, I have no money to spare.

A few months ago I signed up for Habitat for Humanity and was very excited to give volunteering a go. Unfortunately though they only times they had volunteering spaces available were Tuesdays through Thursdays from 9:00am through 3:00pm and since I work a typical office setting day job, there was no way I could ever take the time off to volunteer.

I started looking into other volunteer options. I came across a literacy coalition that I wanted to get seriously involved in, but you have to pay for the training to be a volunteer and I never at any time had an extra $40, and the same day available, for training. Actually, once I did, but they didn’t have any opening available for volunteers at that time. So I went on with my day.

I honestly don’t know why I didn’t think of it sooner, considering I give blood on a semi regular basis, but it never crossed my mind to volunteer with the Red Cross, until… one did it did. I drive past it every single day on my way to work and one day I remembered I needed to make my appointment to give blood, I guess, honestly, I thought that the Red Cross worked mainly with employees, with volunteers too, but mainly with employees. So I started to do some research and learned all about the volunteer program within the organization. I was immediately excited, more so than I ever was my previous volunteer attempts. This was exactly what I was looking for to fill that space in my life, that constant desire to do more, to help. Nationwide, the American Red Cross has over 30,000 employees but over 900,000 volunteers! That’s 96% of the American Red Cross workforce!

I also found out how insanely large the amount of different tasks and types of volunteers they have. I personally am most interested in the emergency response teams and the public relations/media/teaching aspects within the organization. I finished my orientation training tonight, and am very much looking forward to where this experience will take me in my life. I have a blood donation on Monday, but that’s just the first step on a new path.

 

