Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Coming to Denver, I had a pretty basic idea for how I was going to try to make friends. What I didn’t expect was the fact that I’ve been here three weeks, and I have three amazing groups of friends already.

The connections people make and have with other people has never fascinated me more than right now. I have fallen into a group of people, of strangers really, that have clicked into an circle of fresh, new companionship.

Three weeks ago, individually (or paired individuals since we have a few couples in the mix) we were all strangers to one another but now we’ve all bonded into a perfect combination of easy-going, laid back days with each other while truly exploring what Denver has to offer.

We all came from different places and just happened to be all in the same place at the same time. Think about that for a second… it’s fascinating. Seriously.

We have been to more bars, restaurants, parks, parts of town, shops, stores and whatever else we can find in the last few weeks here, than I EVER went to in Lansing, Flint or Michigan in general. I know that obviously Michigan doesn’t have as much to offer, but that’s part of the reason why I left. I love that each day here we can discover a new place to eat, a new place for happy hour, a new place to hang out. There’s always something else to see here.

My favorite part about this chance creation of this group of friends is that we all want the same thing and are in the same place in our lives. We’re all young professionals. We all work on the same schedule. We all even have similar comparable styles of employment. We like our routines and our lifestyles are solid.

So basically, as far as friends and a social life go: things are working out pretty well here. Knock on wood. =)

I was given an piece of advice when I moved to Denver from a fellow blogger who regularly moves from city to city.  She told me that the majority of the people you meet in the first few weeks after arrival will not still be your friend in three months, and not to be upset or surprised when this happens. She didn’t get too deep into her reason for believing this way, but I do understand what she’s saying. I think it has a lot to do with the fact that at first, loneliness and missing your loved ones will try to take over your feelings and you’ll find yourself spending time with anyone that is around. I can 100% see in my own life where this has already happened since coming to Denver. My phone is full of numbers that will never be dialed after first hangout sessions that never lead to a second. But I am pretty sure of which people I’ve met here that I do believe will be in my life for much longer than three months. But, I guess we’ll see how it all plays out in the end, but until then I’m definitely enjoying each day with new friends.

