Tags

, , , , , , ,


Remember when you were a kid, and you swear you remember trick or treating really, really late at night?
I doubt it was that late.

Remember when you ate that HUGE burger all by yourself and you were so excited and told everyone in town?
I bet it wasn’t that big.

Remember when you were 22 and you dated that person who was so sweet and nice and awesome?
Oh right, looking back s/he was horrible.

So, what is it? Is it that we’re not seeing things clearly when they’re happening, or years later our memories are distorted? Did we really go trick or treating until midnight? Or did it just seem that late because we out an hour past our 8:00pm bedtimes?

Does it even have to be a childhood memory? Thinking back to six months ago I can’t figure out what the heck was going on. Was I happy? Was I scared? Was I even alive? I’m not sure anymore.  I know exactly what I am right now, but I have no idea what I was then, or before.

How much do we truly remember anyway? I have brain damage, right? But maybe I don’t remember any less than any other person my age. We all have our reasons for forgetting. We all have our reasons for altering the story, whether we do it on purpose or we’ve trained ourselves to believe our own distortions.

So when you’re telling your story, should you be altering the facts, should you break down the story a little, making it less exciting? Why bother telling a story that isn’t exciting or that doesn’t have a point. Who wants to hear that you had a regular burger?

Tell the story of the great burger. Tell the story of the amazing feat you accomplished. For that matter, live your life like each thing you do will become a great story. Take the deeper plunge, the harder hill, the sweeter dessert. You deserve to have everything you work for in life, because you worked for it.

So if you want it, go get it. Go!

